Heartbreak

“While grief is fresh, every attempt to divert only irritates. You must wait till it be digested, and then amusement will dissipate the remains of it.”    Samuel Johnson

When I would be in a room with other people who were broken hearted, and they shared their stories of what broke their heart, a strange phenomenon occurred-they began to see whose story was worse. Before long a competition of sorts took place. Whose heart was broken the most. And that was when my epiphany occurred. I don’t believe there are degrees of broken hearts. A broken heart is broken. Whatever hit it, the result was on target-the heart broke.

Most of us have experienced heartache at some time in our lives. I used to try and understand what caused the heartache. While that may be helpful, what I found to be the most helpful to a person with a broken heart, was to hug their heart. I learned the cause didn’t really matter, the emotion was the same.

Heartache is sadness.

“Tears are words the mouth can’t say nor can the heart bare”    Joshua Wisenbaker

Leave a comment