Dancing Shoes

Odd that such a forbidden object would now be connected to me. When I call my friend, she hears, “Dancing Queen” swaying from her cell phone. How was I kept from dancing for so long?

My church forbid it. If you danced, you were sinful. You had to make a choice of dancing at your daughter’s wedding, or continuing to serve as a deacon in your church.

I was a dancing closet queen. I felt an inner thrill as I watched the dancers in old musicals. Their dresses swirling and their partners leading them across the floor. Alone in my room I would move to the music. In fact, I found it impossible to hold still. One day, I woke up, and I realized that I had been told a lie. Dancing was not sinful. Dancing was a part of life.

Children seem to have natural rhythm. Who takes that away?  What a terrible shame. I found dancing to be meditative. When I hear music and start to move in harmony with it’s melody, I forget my troubles. I forget the frustrations of the day. Hours can go by and I am still on the dance floor.

My regret is that I learned to dance so late. My body can only dance so long. Fortunately, my soul does not tire. Dancing is how I get through life.

Barbera de Angeles said, “The moment in between what you once were, and who you are now becoming, is where the dance of life really takes place.”

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/object-lesson/

 

4 thoughts on “Dancing Shoes

  1. We have much in common. I am also working on a Container post that involves grief, loss… and physical health. I love to dance, too. A born-again Christian in the 70’s, I gave up dance when they told me I might cause a brother to stumble if I moved my hips the wrong way. The charismatic church said up and down dancing was okay, in praise, but I’m a hip swinger! When my neat little package life fell apart about 1999, I let myself dance. I enjoyed it so much that I married a man I met dancing. Then I let a lot of it go to take care of his kids and then grandchild, and now struggle with neck, shoulder, hip, ankle and foot pain. NowI dance anyway! Just not as well. 😉

    Like

    • morning Joan! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I was married for 31 years to a minister and had my ‘neat little package’ fall apart also. I have learned that what ever caused the broken heart-the heart was still broken. And a broken heart is sad. I am sorry about your health issues. I am glad you can still dance. I am curious–do you still attend church? Funny how the people in the church can control us for so many years. take care!

      Like

      • Thank you, Faye. Yes, you are right that a broken heart is sad. Sadness is okay, I find. Being in a hurry to make everything just right is really quite unrealistic. I am happy to find God with me in sadness and in happiness. People in church may try to control, which is sad too, but I found that they only can if I give them my permission. Finding a church that truly accepts a free spirit is, paradoxically, difficult! I visit various churches, some more than others. I find more connection, encouragement and relationship in the church at large, though. Like, an unexpected exchange with a neighbor when we both really need it, a surprise fellowship in a blog post, that sort of thing. There is value in all members of the body, everywhere. You?

        Like

Leave a Reply

