Rose in the Garden

twins

“Tod, that Copper is going to come back a hunting dog, a real killer.”

“Oh no, not my friend Copper. He won’t ever change…And we will keep on being friends forever.”

“Darling, forever is a long, long, time, and time has a way of changing things.”

Exchange between Big Mama and Young Tod in “The Fox and the Hound”

I took my young son to see that Disney movie. He had a very best friend at the time. He felt they would be friends forever. Not many months after we watched the movie, we moved. They have not spoken to each other since. 

What makes a friend? Shared experiences? Perhaps when people lived in the same neighborhood there was more of a phenomenon of life-long friends. But people are very transient today. Our own family is split from the west coast of California to the east coast of New York. I have had numerous ‘best friends’ over the years. At the time we lived close to each other, shared the same lifestyle, and enjoyed our time together. Over the years I have moved to from coast to coast. I have friends in many cities. I could stop by and have a drink-catch up for a while. But I do not talk to them very often. Can I call them best friends?

I do have one life-long friend. My twin sister. We have lived miles apart, and we have lived close together. During the worst days of my life-she was there. She believed I would make it through. During the worst days of her life-I was there. I encouraged her that she would make it through.

When I read what Leo Buscaglia said, “A single rose can be my garden…a single friend, my world.”, I think of my twin and how she has sweetened the fragrance of my life.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/on-bees-and-efs/

4 thoughts on “Rose in the Garden

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: On Bees and Efs | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. How true. You are a rose in my garden too.

    When you clap to the music
    When you admire a rose
    I will be with you
    Enjoying your pleasure.

    When you face life’s challenges
    When you carry a heavy load
    I will be with you
    Helping you with your pain.

    When you hold and comfort each other
    Forgiving and accepting your differences
    I will be with you
    Embracing your love.

    When you think you can’t go on
    And you’re ready to quit the battle
    I will be with you
    Praying for your strength
    And whispering….
    Just one day at a time.

    Thank God we have each other!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

