The Candle Burns

“Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up enthusiasm wrinkles the soul.” Samuel Ullman

Slide1 This is a poem I wrote about a year ago. I felt I was in danger of losing my fire, my enthusiasm, and my joy. Life can pull at you from many directions. There are times when I think we have to pull back and mend the wick.

I love to see older people laugh. It is inspiring for me to know that it is possible to maintain a sense of humor as we go through the twists and turns of life. I also see older people who are cynical. They can be difficult and draining to talk to. They eek negativity on any given subject.

So how do I maintain my sense of humor and avoid cynicism? After all, when people disappoint you, you begin to question their motives. That is the birth of cynicism.

I think one way to avoid cynicism, and the theft of  your enthusiasm, is to stop trying to figure out the motives of others. Omniscience is out of our reach. Remembering that helps me let go and consequently embrace my own life. 

Embracing my journey, knowing that what ever happens in my life, is part of me-it has been allowed for a reason-it molds me into who I am. What hard part of my life would I erase? I may want to erase them, but they are what nurtured me and urged my soul to anchor deep. They, in the end, brought me a sense of being centered.

So, as I wrinkle, I am hopeful that the smile wrinkles come first. I desire that the spark in my old eyes will provide warmth to another on their journey. 

“You don’t stop laughing because you grow older. You grow older because you stop laughing.” Maurice Chevalier

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/age-old-questions/

4 thoughts on “The Candle Burns

  1. Pingback: It's Mayur Remember?

  2. Pingback: Age is | It's Mayur Remember?

Leave a Reply

