Twins Celebrate-Cheers!

“Cakes are special. Every birthday, every celebration ends with something sweet, a cake, and people remember. It’s all about the memories.” Denis Waitley

Each year we sing, “Happy birthday to us, happy birthday to us, happy birthday dear Faye and Kaye, happy birthday to us!” Being an identical twin means sharing your birthday. For us, it generally meant sharing our birthday cake. 

Today we celebrate our birthday. Kaye has a swimming pool. I will don my suit, coverup, and my old black flip flops. When I bought those simple black flip flops I thought I would wear them only at the pool. But they have proven so comfortable, they accompany me on most of my summer days.

We will celebrate life, and our survival of it, with each other. I will think that she is old and that I am wise. She will think that I am old and that she is wise. Then we will open two bottles of wine; for she likes white and I like red. Wine doesn’t exactly go with German Sweet Chocolate cake-our favorite-so maybe neither one of us is wise. But we are old, and we know how to have fun.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/odd-trio-redux/

2 thoughts on “Twins Celebrate-Cheers!

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Odd Trio Redux | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

