And One Fell Out

“Today was good. Today was fun. Tomorrow is another one.” Dr. Seuss

Oh to be young again. Those days filled with fun. When the busiest things to do were to ‘Count all the bees in the hive, chase all the clouds from the sky..’ as Kenny Loggins sings House at Pooh Corner.

The days filled with fun, eventually adds chores. The days go by and we keep adding to them:

Fun

Fun, chores

Fun, chores, school

Fun, chores, school, work

Fun, chores, work, marriage

Fun, chores, work, marriage, children

Fun, chores, work, marriage, children, taxi driver to kids events, counselor to troubled children, care giver to aging parent

So just like the little nursery rhyme, Ten in the Bed…”There were ten in the bed and the little one said, ‘roll over, roll over’, so they all rolled over and one fell out.”

And before we know it, Fun fell out.

I have to remember to keep fun in my life. I love the zoo. Cincinnati Zoo has recently enjoyed the excitement of the birth of a baby Bonobo. Mama Lisa and baby Bell.

Zoo Chimp

I love to watch her play. Days filled with fun. Many years ago I visited the San Diego Zoo with my sister. I wanted to remind myself to try and not let Fun roll out of my life. So I bought a little stuffed monkey. I named her FooFoo.

FooFo

FooFoo sits in my dressing room. A little green crystal glass monkey sits there too. They remind me to play and have fun. Some days I just see them out the corner of my eye. Some days I look at them more intently. Some days I pick FooFoo up, hug her close to my face and heart. After a bit of hugging, I begin to dance around my room singing; my heart being cheered and my spirit lifted.

“I never lose sight of the fact that just being is fun.”  Katharine Hepburn

Leave a Reply

