The thief? His name is Fear.

“Fear keeps us focused on the past or worried about the future. If we can acknowledge our fear, we can realize that right now we are okay. Right now, we are still alive, and our bodies are working marvelously.” Thich Nhat Hanh

I was recently asked the question, how would I survive a night of fear, facing a dangerous situation. The scene was being involved in an avalanche, and rescue could not come until the morning.

I would face that fear as I have faced many fears in my life. I would focus on the moment. This very moment in time. Moments become minutes, minutes become hours, and hours will pass until day can brake.

I would also focus on my sense of ‘life journey’. I believe that there is a day to come to this earth-to begin my journey-and there is a day to leave this earth-to end my journey. Many times people escape what was viewed as certain death. Others die without any prior complication. If it is my day to go, I will go-whatever the portal of passage.

This belief comforts me. I know that when it is my time to leave, I cannot do anything to change that. Nor can others. So I mainly pray for strength and grace to accept that. That calms my fears. Fear is a thief. It robs you of peace. It steals your strength. It carries away your focus.

“Hope is the thing with feathers that perches in the soul-and sings the tunes without the words-and never stops at all.”  Emily Dickinson

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/under-the-snow/

Leave a Reply

