Thick Skin

“Only fools let compliments get to their heads and criticism get to their hearts.” unknown

4 people-5 opinions. You can’t please all the people all the time. Despite my rhetoric to remind me of this ancient truth, I am still concerned when I know that I have disappointed someone. My 30 years as a minister’s wife fueled the mandate to please everyone. Of course, that is impossible, yet that was my daily goal. When I finally realized that demand was unachievable, I gave up that goal. Then I had to figure out, how would I please myself.

I had not gotten in touch with what I wanted in a lifetime. I had to let myself out to see what I had to say. I am still listening.

However, a new truth is evident to me. I will make mistakes and I will inadvertently hurt people. People may be hurt simply because I do not agree. I no longer have to pretend to agree with everyone I come in contact with. Whew! What a relief that is! I can be nice, but I do not have to give up my thoughts to inherit another’s.

But, my skin is still thin. I am trying to let it thicken. Who knew that process could be so painful?

“You have to grow thick skin and that only comes with time and learning.” Karlie Kloss

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/I-have-confidence-in-me/

One thought on “Thick Skin

  1. Truth, but verified. Folks get hurt when you ask questions. God gave us a brain, we are supposed to discern what is right and what is wrong. Opinions, theories and speculations come and go, but we have the ability to consider the validity.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

