Inspired Learning

“My mother said I must always be intolerant of ignorance but understanding of illiteracy. That some people, unable to go to school, were more educated and more intelligent than college professors.” Maya Angelou

What makes a great teacher?

Is it that they love, care, and build your self-esteem?  No, I don’t think so. I think that would make them a great person, but not necessarily a great teacher.

I think a great teacher is not necessarily someone who has a clear teaching plan and fabulous objectives. They may make the school look good and the principal feel confident, but I don’t think those attributes necessarily make a significant teaching impact on lives.

I think a great teacher is someone-anyone, not necessarily someone who is a teacher by profession-who inspires me to learn.   Someone who teaches me to think. A person who models asking questions. Learning is a dynamic process. It is not a one classroom event. I think it has become a terrible disappointment, and injustice to our next generation, to teach for the test. That is a one time memory project. It doesn’t teach a mind to soar and seek.

“Education is not the learning of facts, but the training of the mind to think.” Albert Einstein

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/we-can-be-taught-2/

 

 

4 thoughts on “Inspired Learning

  1. ” I think it has become a terrible disappointment, and injustice to our next generation, to teach for the test.”

    As a teacher, I couldn’t agree more. It’s one of the reasons I left that profession. It is a travesty, and robs the innovative, creative teacher of the joy of waking students’ minds to the wonder of learning.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not bragging here, but I was a 4.0 student. Why? I knew the questions that were going to be asked on an exam. It is very easy to learn how to take tests. It was only after I left college and began my personal, independent study did I actually LEARN.

    Like

Leave a Reply

