Wine and iPads

I am not so good at waiting. I move at a fast pace. I don’t like unanswered questions or open endings.

Rushing has caused me some injuries. If I bump into a table, or turn into a door frame, I don’t do so casually. I ram into them. Because I am flying. In a hurry to get it all done.

Some say ‘Good things come to those who wait.’ Maybe so. I suppose the people who say that also say, ‘patience is a virtue.’ Maybe so.

I am not so certain that waiting makes good things come to you. But waiting does make you appreciate them more. If I want something new and immediately go out to purchase it, I will like it. I might love it. But if I save my money, research my options and I finally get to purchase the desired, chosen, purchase, I cherish it.

Did the waiting make it happen? No. But the waiting helped me to cherish it.

Prayer is similar. Did the prayer itself change the event? No. But it changed me as it helped me to embrace it.

In my fast rush to get through the daily demands of my life, I think it is helpful for me to be reminded to wait. To pause. To breathe. My tendency when called upon to wait-even 10-20 minutes-is to pull out my iPad, pour a glass of wine and say I am waiting. But I am still being active. True waiting, is silent, reflective, and restoring. It gives me a chance to catch up with myself.

So, in that vein, the saying, ‘good things come to those who wait’, I would agree. Waiting lets me catch up with me.

“The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient. One should lie empty, open, choiceness as a beach-waiting for the gift from the sea.”  Anne Morrow Lindbergh

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/waiting-room/

3 thoughts on “Wine and iPads

  1. Pingback: The Sun Will Rise….. | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

  2. Pingback: Gone – Forgotten? | Lemon Lime Follies

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Good things come to those who wait | Lord of the Sick - Saviour of the World

Leave a comment